We are a full-service website design,
development and digital marketing agency
based in Christchurch, New Zealand.
We are a full-service website design, development and digital marketing agency based in Christchurch, New Zealand.
Are you not operating your business anymore? Or, for some other reason, do you need to delete a Google Business listing? Maybe you’ve moved and instead of editing the old one, you’ve set-up another one …. now you need to delete the old one.
First thing first, be aware that you can either choose to mark your business permanently closed or delete your listing.
This action will stop the business from showing up in search unless people directly search for the company. If so, Google will show a “Permanently Closed” message on the listing.
The location will now appear as permanently closed on Google Maps and Search.
First of all, it is an easy way to keep your customers up-to-date. Your listing may have more visitors than your website, for example. And second of all, doing so makes it easier in the case you want, one day, to reopen your business, with all its data.
Ideally, you may mark your business as permanently closed before deleting it.
Be aware that there is no way to delete a business from Google’s index entirely.
If the steps below won’t work for you, you can request to delete it from Maps.
If Google approved your request, the suggested location would be removed from Map.